Diving Medical Training Scholarships

The Australasian Diving Safety Foundation is proud to offer a series of annual Diving Medical Training scholarships. We are offering these scholarships to qualified medical doctors to increase their knowledge of diving medicine by participating in an approved diving medicine training program. These scholarships are mainly available to doctors who reside in Australia. However, some exceptions may be considered for regional overseas residents, especially in places frequented by Australian divers.

The awarding of such a scholarship and the amount of funding offered will be at the sole discretion of the ADSF. It will be based on a variety of criteria such as the location of the applicant, their working environment, financial need, and the perception of where and how the training would likely be utilised to reduce diving morbidity and mortality. 

There are two categories of scholarships:

  1. ADSF scholarships for the annual ANZHMG course at Fiona Stanley Hospital in Perth, Western Australia. This has a value of up to $5,500. Download the application form here.

  2. The Carl Edmonds Memorial Diving Medicine Scholarship specifically for training at the Royal Australian Navy Medical Officers’ Underwater Medicine Course. This has a value of up to $4,500. Download the scholarship application form here.

Interested persons should complete the relevant application form and send it by email to johnl@adsf.org.au. Applications for course enrolment are separate and must be done directly with the course provider.

General details of some such courses are available at: https://spums.au/index.php/education/spums-approved-courses-for-doctors

The Australasian Diving Safety Foundation Limited is registered as a charity with the Australian Charities and Not-for-profits Commission ABN 60 623 963 744.